Storing your bike in winter

boboneleg

So this is something I've never done before as I've always ridden my bikes through winter, but with the Ducati there is no way I'm letting that out on salty roads.

I talked to my boss first and taking his advice I've filled the tank with race fuel (higher octane) and fuel stabilizer, covered all the metal parts with GT-85 (after washing and drying it) and then covered it up with sheets and a bike cover.  The one thing he told me NOT to do was start it up very so often and let it run (which I probably would have done ) as it attracts condensation.

This video more or less says the same things but what do you do, any other helpful tips ?

• Like 2

1 hour ago, XTreme said:

In Britain I always put mine on carpets!

FILE404.JPG.1f8f5a941d6b1d958f4bdb85f78cd6cf.JPG

Yes to carpets and a battery conditioner.
I too never normally bother with all that but it seems so much more unlikely they'll be emerging from the sheds over winter so I should consider some measures.
Mandis CBF and my tracer both need MOTs but it's a bit chilly out there so might let them expire and sort later.

• Like 3

1 minute ago, Catteeclan said:

Yes to carpets and a battery conditioner.
I too never normally bother with all that but it seems so much more unlikely they'll be emerging from the sheds over winter so I should consider some measures.

I did use carpets for a while here......but there's no real point because it's rare that the bike doesn't go anywhere for more than 2 weeks.

• Like 2

Just now, XTreme said:

I did use carpets for a while here......but there's no real point because it's rare that the bike doesn't go anywhere for more than 2 weeks.

I knew a local builder who had some classic cars many moons ago. He'd cut squares of carpet to put under each tyre, he said to stop the contact with the cold concrete. Don't really understand why but it seems lots of people do it. Prob more important now with the modern less resistant compounds.

• Like 2