Never Buy Chain Lube Again?

XTreme

3 hours ago, Grasshopper's Ride said:

I also enjoyed this comparison.  I love Fortnine's videos. ?

Hey that makes me think, we need some Canadian love. :littleguy:

Canadian love eh michelle well count me in

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

• 1 month later...

How do you know when you need a new chain and what sort of chain you’ve got? 

What’s the easiest (not necessarily the cheapest) thing to clean a chain with cos I hate doing it and want the job to be over with as quickly as possible? 

44 minutes ago, Slowlycatchymonkey said:

How do you know when you need a new chain and what sort of chain you’ve got? 

What’s the easiest (not necessarily the cheapest) thing to clean a chain with cos I hate doing it and want the job to be over with as quickly as possible? 

I am no expert on this, but i reckon I need a new chain  when it needs constant adjustement, ie after every ride, which would indicate it's stretching really fast. Or if you've reached the limit of adjustement on the tensioners. There's also something about if its at the correct tension and you can pull the chain off the rear sprocket far enough to see the teeth then it's fooked ( or something like that).  I'm sure Bob or Cateeclan or somebody properly technical will be along to give you the correct info

( No, not you Pete!... you don't keep your bikes long enough to need to tension the chain, let alone replace it 😅 )

I rarely actually clean my chain, but when I do I use parrafin, like you'd put in a parrafin heater or lamp, and a paintbrush. Flicks it bloody everywhere though 🤣.

• Thanks 1

13 minutes ago, MooN said:

No, not you Pete!... you don't keep your bikes long enough to need to tension the chain, let alone replace it 

I adjusted the chain a couple of weeks ago actually. :classic_cool:

And I always tend to go by pulling chain off the back of the sprocket, or too many tight spots.

• Like 1

14 minutes ago, MooN said: