Loss of Confidence

Tango

I've been riding bikes for about 46 years and, in the earlier days, it was my only transport year round, but just recently I've lost some of my confidence on the bike. I'm aware that my riding is not as smooth as it used to be and that in turn makes me feel less at ease on the bike. 

So I'm trying to figure out what's changed?

Due to the pandemic and the move out here I had the best part of 2 years with very little riding, so, am I just rusty and the more I ride the better it'll get?

Maybe it's the bike? I find the suspension much too soft for me. It dives like crazy whilst braking and wallows and wobbles on any undulations in the road. It also tramlines like crazy too, which I guess is due to the tyres. I can still get the bike over near to the edge of the tyres, but don't make progress like I used to.

Maybe it's just an age thing? I'm a lot more cautious than I used to be. 

Has anyone else felt that the lack of getting out on the bike due to the restrictions had a negative effect on their confidence on the bike? Or maybe a bike that just doesn't inspire confidence?

Your thought and comments would be appreciated. 

• Like 3

9 minutes ago, Six30 said:

Sounds like the bike to me Bob.

Or maybe I just need to get a few more Km under my belt on it? It's very different to my last bike, that I owned for 7 years.

• Like 2

Good thread Bob! Here's my experience with this!

About 3 years ago when I sold the red XT I honestly thought it was game over. Reason being was that for a few years prior to that point I felt things weren't right.......it wasn't coming naturally to me anymore. Driving a car was harder too.

I didn't lack confidence as such.....it was a case of I was having to work much harder to do things that always came easily. I spent about a year or so without a bike and accepted that it was probably time to call it a day before something went wrong out there.