Welcome emarsh

Admin

Hi,

A friend sent me a link to this site. I've been riding on and off since 1973. For most of that time it was sports bikes. I've done some racing too, mostly drag racing. 

In 2017 I moved from the US to Spain. When I left the US most of my time and money was going into my light aircraft but with a retiree's budget flying isn't likely to be a thing for me here, though I do want to see about flying a sailplane. So after a while the urge for another motorcycle set in. 

Spanish law does not provide a mechanism for me to exchange my US driver's license so I had to go through the whole process again, starting from scratch. Once I had my automobile license I started looking at getting a bike license. Turns out that I am limited to 47 horsepower for the first two years, though I can restrict a bike with up to twice that amount.

There's enough dirt roads here that I thought it would be good to get a bike that I can ride on them. My wife never wanted to ride on my sports bikes so I decided to try to buy something that is comfortable two up on the highways. Also, one thing that I'd become sick of doing is cleaning and lubing chains every 600 miles. So after doing some research I decided to get an old BMW R1150 GS. It's affordable, has a good reputation and can be restricted. So that's what I did.

Oh, yeah. Getting an A2 motorcycle license here was expensive and it was a pain. Everything is in Spanish, which is a language that I don't speak well. But I had the money, I had the time and I had the determination. So I've got the A2 license and in less than a year I can exchange it for an A license.