USA Summer 2021 Ride

Earache

I'm so bored that I'm thinking about next summer's rides already. Now that my bud Craigster (DesmoDog) is on board and has a new scooter, time to think about a nice cruise for next summer.

And should any of you Europeans or persons from anywhere else want to come along with us, we'd love to have you! It'd be the cheapest guided tour of the US that you'll ever have. The bad news is, Craig and I are the tour guides - so there's that.

So, where would you like to go? I'm thinkin  Rocky Mountains to Northern California and back - see route in pic. About 3,000 miles - easily done in 7-10 days...or longer if you wish.

Any other ideas?

Summer 2021 route.jpg

• Like 2

7 minutes ago, XTreme said:

I've been saying for 45+ years that I want to ride Route 66.......but I think large stretches of it are now closed?

That and it's the worst possible route across the USA.  It was laid out when vehicles weren't capable of going across mountain ranges, etc - so it follows the path of least resistance - if that makes sense. Can't understand the fascination of it.

Portions from around Santa Fe, New Mexico and westward aren't too bad, but anything east of there is complete shit.  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U.S._Route_66#/map/0  It routes through the busiest part of each city along the way .... places I usually try to avoid.

A better route would be Route 50 - The Loneliest Road - if you wanted to a cross USA trip on 2 lane roads.  But even that is going to be pretty boring for 1,000's of miles.

But, if it's been a life long dream, then ya oughtta do it.

us-route-50-map.jpg

• Like 1

19 minutes ago, Earache said:

But, if it's been a life long dream, then ya oughtta do it.

It'll never happen Eric.......my work and family commitments prevent it......plus I'm too bloody old now.