Alpinestars Tech-Air 5 Review

Hugh Janus

Alpinestars’ Tech-Air 5 airbag vest is one of the latest protective gear options and is now more versatile than ever.
Alpinestars’ Tech-Air 5 airbag vest is one of the latest protective gear options and is now more versatile than ever. (Jeff Allen /)

“Riding can be dangerous.” We are told that from riding instructors, friends, and family from the first time you set out on the street. You have to be mentally and physically prepared for anything that could go wrong. Taking extra precautions with protective motorcycle gear is always a high priority in my book, which makes an airbag system, like the Tech-Air 5, a highly appealing addition to a riding kit. 

A little background for you. When I started riding, my dad was okay with me riding at the company trackdays (no cars there, you see), but I even rode the streets quite often, admittedly without his knowledge. Then came the day when my dad found out I bought my own motorcycle and he was, quite frankly, angry and understandably scared.

I bargained with him. What if I wear an airbag-compatible jacket? He conceded. I bought Alpinestars’ Tech-Air Street Airbag System and compatible Stella Yaguara Drystar jacket and his anger and (most) anxiety were abated, so much so that even he couldn’t stop bragging to his friends about this technology. While this jacket/suit compatible system was publicly available in the US market in 2015, now for 2020, Alpinestars has the Tech-Air 5 vest, a stand-alone airbag vest that offers similar chest, back, and shoulder protection, but with a significant amount of versatility not available in the previous system, allowing for use under any motorcycle jacket. 

Unlike the previous generation of airbag tech, the Tech-Air 5 does not require cables to connect it to a compatible suit. The only cable you need is the Micro-USB when the battery is running low. The charging port is located toward the top of the back-protector-like rigging.