How Structural Stiffness Has Given Us More Responsive Bikes

Hugh Janus

Modern motorcycles with nearly flex-free front ends thanks to upside-down forks held by triple clamps with large clamping surfaces.
Modern motorcycles with nearly flex-free front ends thanks to upside-down forks held by triple clamps with large clamping surfaces. (Jeff Allen /)

This past week I was forcefully reminded of how much motorcycle structure has changed during my time in the sport when a friend arrived one afternoon on a new 790 KTM. As I used to do when I was a tech inspector 30 years ago, I took that bike’s front wheel between my knees, grasped the bars, and tried to twist. 

Nothing. No perceptible movement. It was as though that motorcycle’s front end, made up of many parts clamped together by bolting, was welded into a single rigid unit.

That brought to mind words from CW’s former dirt editor, Jimmy Lewis, who described test-riding two different brands of 125 MX bike with near identical steering geometry and wheelbase. One of them responded to steering in a modern, right-now fashion, while the other seemed languid and slow, as if asking out of the corner of its mouth, “You want something, buddy?” before responding to control input.

And that in turn brought to mind a conversation with Aprilia engineers last month, in which one of them reminded me that when engines are made smooth by use of internal balance shafts, there is no longer any need for such beastly antique compromises as rubber-mounted handlebars (like having a rubber steering-shaft in a car!) and squidgy-feeling rubber-mounted footpegs. Look back in time, next time you find yourself surrounded by other people’s bikes from past eras, and see how much rubber had to be placed between the rider’s extremities and the buzzy unbalanced secondary vibration of older inline-fours or the orbital gyrations of unbalanced Vee-twins.